Dalmatia is a historical – geographical region in the south of Croatia that occupies around one quarter of its territory. The name Dalmatia is first used in the 1st century BC as a name for the area between rivers Krka and Cetina where Illyrian tribe Dalmatae were settled.

Modern day Dalmatia extends from Pag – Starigrad on the north (northernmost point Tribanj) to the border with Montenegro on the southeast. Its countryside stretches to the state border with the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina, in the high mountain region of Dinara – Kamešnica – Zavelin. It's divided into the island part which includes all Croatia's islands, except those in the Kvarner gulf, among which the largest are: Brač, Hvar, Korčula and Vis, and the land part, a submediterranean interior, so called Dalmatian Zagora.

The coast is craggy and rugged, with a lot of gulfs, islands, and islets. Dalmatia is characterized by karst topography. The climate is mediterranean, with long and dry summers and mild winters, as well as the vegetation among which olives, aleppo pine, grape vine, and almonds stand out.

Largest towns are Split, Zadar and Šibenik.